Unhappy sleeps

I know that sleep is one of those necessary things that some people enjoy more than others. I happen to fall into the category of “sleep is overrated” category. I’m used to sleeping relatively minimally, but I go to bed early and wake up early. I’m a tosser and find sleep generally the opposite of restful. However, I’ve determined that those few hours of unrested tossing and turning are quite important to my happiness. Without them, I am a grouchy person. I will admit it, readily.

For the last few nights, there’s been some sort of street construction/ destruction directly outside our house. Granted, we live on a very busy corner on an equally busy street, but it’s insane. The construction begins around midnight and ends around four AM. That seems a bit ridiculous, especially because our dogs go nuts with every jackhammer. So in addition to the maddening sounds from outdoors, we’ve got dog barking chaos inside.

In relation to my happiness project, I realize that I really count on, enjoy and take for granted those hours of my night to prepare me for my day. Most days when I wake up, I’m almost bouncing out of bed. I’m alert, awake and ready to tackle my routine in the mornings. Yet, the last few days, I’ve not been myself. I’m groggy, short-tempered, and uncomfortable. I have decided that I dislike this feeling greatly. I will be calling the city today… It’s better than what I want to do the very minute I hear jackhammering, which is bolting out the door in my pajamas, with wild eyes and hair, screaming at them to STOP IT! Yet I digress.

The point here is that any disruption in the status quo, our daily or nightly routines can cause great amounts of stress and unhappiness. I am just as susceptible to this as anyone, though I’d like to think of myself as pretty flexible… when it comes to sleep, forget it. I am 100% INFLEXIBLE. I need at least a few hours of good sleep every day.

What about you? Are there things that you NEED to function and to be happy? Please comment! Thanks!

~ by wendemachete on January 31, 2012.

2 Responses to “Unhappy sleeps”

  1. I really enjoyed reading this about you. Wishing you Wellness and restful sleep!

Leave a Reply

 
