The way to happiness….

I read a quote today that struck my sleepy brain like lightening. And here’s what it said:

“There is no way to happiness; Happiness is the way”- Thich Naht Hanh

  Here’s the light bulb that went off in my head. Now, I know this might sound overly
“Buddhist” or whatever, but part of me thinks that this is one of those meditative curiosities, like “what’s the sound of one hand clapping?” However, the other part (the larger part) believes truly that one can be happy in their regular, daily life. I know it’s true. Great scholars and thinkers and inventors and Saints have all made references to happiness and how to get there, but Thich Naht Hanh as I know that The Dalai Lama, have devoted decades of teaching to this very thing.

With that being said, I can also achieve more happiness in my regular, daily life. I don’t have to seek out joy. I need to BE the joy. Be the light, the happiness and be it every day. I’m driving myself nuts in the minutiae of feeling guilty that I don’t do yoga like I want to everyday and I’m riddled with clutter. Yes, those things make me nuts and I’m striving to improve them, but they are not the “source” of my happiness or unhappiness. I am.

~ by wendemachete on February 10, 2012.

3 Responses to “The way to happiness….”

  1. Reblogged this on Red Rock Crossing.

  2. […] The way to happiness…. (ayearoflastinghappiness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
