Manufactured “Holidays”

I just wanted to drop a quick post today about something that I find irritating.

Now, I understand that today is a “holiday”, mainly created by greeting card companies and makers of decadent snacks to get us, consumers, to do just that… consume. Don’t get me wrong, I love, love. I love heart filled sentiments and a good bit of dark chocolate… however, I don’t like feeling pressured on literally every street corner to buy something (usually a stuffed animal surrounded by candy, wrapped in plastic with balloons).

I also would like it if my single friends wouldn’t be inundated with “love” stuff that makes them feel bad about being unattached. I often think some of them feel bad enough as it is, without the extra obligation.

At the same time… I realize that some people need a reminder to do something nice for others, like around the Winter holidays, donating money or time to charity… I get it. We all have incredibly busy lives and we need reminders of things sometimes. I’m just as guilty of forgetting stuff, even stuff that I WANT to do. But I’m sorry, I cannot believe that there are people in this world, in relationships… that are generally jerks and think that somehow, if they buy something for their partner, all is forgiven. BAH! Insane.

A radio commercial that made me laugh yesterday is as follows “You can get the most romantic movie of the year “Twilight Breaking Dawn and maybe some flowers and a bottle of wine, and afterward… it’s happy Valentine’s day to you”

Wow. There are so many things wrong with that, I barely know where to start. The one thing I’ll point out though is that if you buy your lady something… you’re getting lucky tonight. That is disgusting. Sorry guys, we aren’t all like that. I’d say the vast majority are not like that. There’s your reality check.

My point is not only is our society stigmatized into buying stuff, we’re also nudged into putting out on a specific day of the year. Strange. Now, in the spirit of full disclosure, I will admit that I bought my honey a card. However, I was out shopping with a friend and I happened to see it as I walked by a small card rack in the store. I gave it to him, not for a holiday, but because it was one of the first cards that said exactly what I wanted it to (more on that another time). It was given to him days before today and I even mentioned to him that it was because I was thinking of him, which is why I got it. And, it is part of a line that’s designed by high school students in art classes, encouraging artistic expression. Plus, it has robots holding hands. Adorable.

So, in closing, I want to say again… I don’t hate love, candy or sweet words/ gestures. I do find today and the obligation of consumerism annoying. But, being able to live through it breeds happiness, right?

Thanks for reading!

(Above image from: http://frillsandthrills.blogspot.com/2011/02/happy-anti-valentines-day.html)

 

~ by wendemachete on February 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
