Not swearing is HARD

This month is dedicated to watching what I say and how I say it. I’ve been doing my best to be aware of my words and awareness brings about change, if you ask me. But, let me just say this right now… not swearing is much harder than I thought it would be.

I’m not the kind of person who F-bombs all day or anything, but I will use explicatives for emphasis. And considering some of the people that I associate with, not doing that is rather difficult. It’s along the lines of asking a sailor to stop cussing, as the saying goes.

Anyway, until now, I didn’t particularly pay attention, unless I was in mixed company, to the word choices I used. Now, with my new found awareness… I find that my words have lost their emphasis, I suppose. For instance, when I get really fired up about something or excited… my words are lacking that added measure of disgust/elation.

Truth be told, I need to expand my vocabulary. I think that’s really all this means. So as a side goal, I’m going to have to find words that are suitable replacements for common phrases that are less offensive. At work I say “shizzle” in place of a word or two and instead of holy hell, simply because I find it funny, I say “holy halibut”. But I was watching a weed control commercial and one of the lines when the homeowner saw his grass had all died said “What the front yard?!” and I find this very funny. I’ve not had a place to use it yet, but I will. Rest assured.

Anyway, if you have any good swearing substitutes, or just really great vocabulary words that I can use in everyday speaking, please share them. I’m interested in finding other things to say. Thanks for reading!

(http://www.buyolympia.com/q/Item=tm-explicative-checkbook)

~ by wendemachete on May 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
