A blast from the past (past goals)

Already this year I’ve had goals to end suffering of those around me, and the universe is letting me know, that goal is never fulfilled.
Exhibit A:          And exhibit B:
There is an exhibit C, but she’s rather elusive.

Anyway, these animals have adopted us this week. Exhibit A, whom we’ve named Lewis (as in Jerry Lee, since we already have an Elvis), is incredibly sweet and friendly. He loves to meow and hang around on our front porch. He tries to come inside the house, but since he’s not been to the vet, that’s not happening. We can’t put Elvis at risk of illness, if Lewis has one. We are careful to wash our hands after touching him and all that too. Elvis was here first, so our first responsibility is to keep him safe.

Exhibit B, who is officially nameless, but I like to call Scrappy, is also a sweet boy. He’s dangerously thin and extremely skittish. He’s afraid of Lewis, who just wants to make friends. But I think eventually, they’ll be buddies. Anyway, his fur is all scraggly, dirty and he just looks MESSED UP. My heart goes out to him. We have taken to feeding them because I refuse to let animals die of starvation on my watch. I know that I can’t save them all, but these two landed on our doorstep for a reason and I’ll be damned if I let them suffer. So, today I’m off to buy less expensive food, since we give Elvis expensive food because he doesn’t eat much. But if we’re now feeding the neighborhood, we need to make it affordable.

I hope that Lewis and Scrappy both have healthier lives now that we’re in them. 🙂

~ by wendemachete on May 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
