Happiness is…

To me, the simple things in life are true happiness. Here are some of my favorites:

The calm of dawn when the world is just waking up.

The purr of a sleepy cat.

The perfect downward dog performed by a stretching pup.

The bashful smile of a little kid who is shy but also happy to see you.

The cool breeze as I water the garden.

A nice, long, hot shower.

Stretching.

The first sip of hot coffee.

Clothes straight out of the dryer.

The first bite of chocolate cake.

Talking with others about everything and nothing.

Seeing the pets waiting for you as you come in the door.

My car starting, stopping and doing all the things it does to get me places.

A long hug.

Quietly reading a book in the sunshine.

A good white wine.

A cold glass of water on a hot day.

A good meal.

These are just some of my favorite, happy, simple things. Please comment to share yours! Thank you for reading.

~ by wendemachete on May 30, 2012.

4 Responses to “Happiness is…”

  1. Hi! Your cat is so lovely! Cheers!

    • Thank you so much! That’s actually my friend’s cat, but he IS darling. My cat doesn’t sit still long enough for a picture very often. 🙂

  2. I’m coming to this late, but great post. It’s so important to take the time to be grateful, and I feel like if you pay attention in this way, “happiness” will appear more often. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

    • Thank you for the kind words. It means a lot to me that others find something in what I write. I think that this blog has been my “reminder” to think deeply, be grateful and pay attention. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

 
