The simple happiness revelation

I say revelation not because this is some new idea that I’ve stumbled on, but simply that I was reminded today.

True and lasting happiness cannot be found by, with or in an external factor. It must be found within, from your true self. However, there are simple things that can be found externally to remind you of how happy you truly are, how fortunate and the Universe isn’t completely out to screw us.

Getting a “thank you” card in the mail to show you’re appreciated, getting soup when you’re sick from a friend, making plans with friends and family for the weekend and just knowing you’re loved make a tough day or long week so much more satisfying. Having someone want your company or at least show that you are important to them is really awesome.

So often we get bogged down in our daily lives, and I’m as guilty as any… maybe more so, but creating just a small sliver of space to show others that you care can make a world of difference. I know it always makes me feel good when I get some of those fuzzy feelings from those in my life. I try to dish them out as often as possible.

Wooo! Friday, be good to me and everyone else. Happy weekend!

~ by wendemachete on August 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
