And now for something completely different…

Ok, not really, but it sounded good. 🙂

Forgive me father for it’s been more than a week since my last confession… In seriousness, I know it’s been a bit longer than I had planned between posts, but the first week or two of a semester can really be a doozy. This is the first summer in 3 years that I’ve not taken classes, so it’s been exceptionally difficult getting back in the “school” rhythm. But I think I’m getting there. Slowly but surely. Aside from that, things have been pretty much the same in that I’ve been working and trying to get things done with my POS car. That in and of itself has been extremely stressful. But thanks to the generosity of a good friend, I’ve got a temporary car that runs like a champ, until he gets back from vacation. I never realized how much air conditioning rules, until yesterday.

Anyway, today’s installment is not simply about what I’ve been doing this week that has made it difficult for me to blog, but rather it’s about mental and emotional processes. Let me explain. In my head, I want to write. In my heart, I know it’s what I love to do. However, in reality, it’s not easy to do what it is that I want to do much of the time because I’ve got other things that take priority at any given time. This same model expands out to other facets of life too… In my head, I want to have my own business. In my heart, I know I can do it and I would be great at it. In reality, I need to find the time to make it happen along with everything else. In my head I know I know how to fix my car. In my heart I know I am capable. In reality, there are just some things that cannot be fixed with limited tools, knowledge and resources.

The point of mentioning these things is that mentally and emotionally, I know certain things to be true, yet reality, humanity, society, my own hang ups all have a way of making what I know and feel that much harder to maintain. The universe has a way of testing us at every turn and I think that overcoming the odds or various challenges is what make us not only crazy, but also more confident in our abilities, thoughts and feelings. If we don’t overcome these challenges, it’s back to the drawing board until we figure it out or give up and move on. Either way, we learn from it.

Learning is a huge part of happiness. According to one of the books I’m reading, there’s short-term and long-term happiness. Short-term happiness is stuff that requires little work and planning, very little sacrifice in the short term, but allows for brief moments of happiness. Long-term happiness, such as owning a house, going on a long vacation etc, require long term planning and often struggles to get there. And by learning the lessons of life, taking on these challenges and overcoming them, allows us the knowledge, heart and wherewithal to batten down the hatches and get things done for that long term happiness stuff. I’m currently trying to get some short term happiness while working hard to cultivate long term happiness. I’ve been so focused on the long term side of things, I’ve all but forgotten that everyday can be a source of happiness. Thankfully I’ve got great people in my life to gently remind me that it’s not always about the struggle, it can also be about the here and now. For that, I’m eternally grateful.

~ by wendemachete on September 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “And now for something completely different…”

  1. That sunset pier picture is amazing; would love to meditate there everyday:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

Leave a Reply

 
