Such is my topsy turvy life

I first want to say that chaos seems to gravitate to me, in pretty much every facet of life, all the time. I can’t catch a break it feels like, but I shouldn’t be surprised. It’s not like this is some new development.

There are some new developments though in this mess that I call reality. Primarily on the work front, things have hit an interesting speed bump. It appears that 7 years is long enough for the head of my department to work for this company and he decided to move on. Everyone wishes him the best, including myself. He is a really great guy and I hope that his future endeavors are just as great. What this means for me is that I’ve officially been tagged, now that I’m done with my Bachelor’s degree, to fill his shoes. Last week was tremendously stressful since I was finishing up my classes and also training to be the boss. Starting tomorrow, I’ll be training a new “me”. Coincidentally enough, I already know her from a mutual friend, even though I had nothing to do with her getting the position. It was purely by chance. Such a small world. But yes, I’ll then be saddled with training a brand new person for 3 days before I go on vacation for 10 days. Craaaaazy. Naturally, I got hustled into chiming in remotely while away. But at least the brunt of the madness will be averted, I hope.

So, my goal of  “career or grad school” has taken a slightly different course than what I expected, even from just a few weeks ago. I think I’m going to use this opportunity to see where it takes me and save the debt and chaos of going back to school for a later date. I think I need a nice long break from school anyway. I feel like I’ve been pulled in a million directions for too many years and I’d like to see if I can remember what it’s like to just have one place to be everyday instead of two or three. While my new gig will be slightly more stressful, it’ something that I’ll be able to leave at work and not have to take it home with me. I’ll ignore the fact that I’ll be taking it on vacation… for now.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the change of pace from academic-while-working life and focusing just on the work aspect for a while.

~ by wendemachete on December 17, 2012.

3 Responses to “Such is my topsy turvy life”

  1. I love you!!! this is great news Wendles! Very happy for you and seeing this transition is inspiring!

  2. Congrats on your promotion wendE! You will kill it!

  3. Thanks so much for the kind words guys. I ❤ you both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
