Take a hike!

Happy Monday to everyone reading this post. I hope you all had wonderful weekends. I know I did… Though, I understand now how the saying ‘take a hike’ can be offensive.

My honey and I have done a little bit of hiking and we have plans to become more avid hikers. We decided that our Sunday would be a 10.7 mile hike. Pretty ambitious for a pair of beginners. But what the hell, it can’t be that bad right?

20130225-055112.jpg

Zoom in… it’s the long purple line that goes left to right….

We had a pretty rough time though. It could have been much worse, I’m sure, but it was pretty strenuous. It was considered a moderate hike. Some parts were really easy while others were a bit harder. The hardest part really was doing it.

20130225-055142.jpg

Sadly, we got off to a bad start to begin with. We hiked up the wrong trail accidentally and it took an hour or so for us to get to the right one. After that it took about 6 hours.

20130225-055157.jpg

I will tell you that I’m feeling it today, a whole bunch. I’m definitely not 19 anymore. However, even though my body hates me at the moment, I got to spend the entire day with my honey, outside in the chilly wind, having a really cool, unusual shared experience. I wouldn’t trade that for anything. I love adventures and I love my man. What a perfect combination.

20130225-055129.jpg

20130225-055205.jpg

20130225-055211.jpg

20130225-055222.jpg

~ by wendemachete on February 25, 2013.

4 Responses to “Take a hike!”

  1. That’s awesome and quite a feat for beginners! You’ll be ready for the Grand Canyon in no time!!!

    • Yeah, I don’t know about all that camping. I’m kind of a wuss.

      Have you hiked trail 100?

      • Honestly, I don’t know. I get in the car, get out of the car, hike, and then back in the car. I lost track a long time ago of where we’ve gone! The camping part really isn’t that bad, except for the weight you have to carry…

      • You kids have been on a ton of hikes. And I can only imagine how tough the camping would be to carry. I mean, nobody wants to be that idiot on the news so you’ve got to bring the right stuff and plenty of it!

Leave a Reply

 
