Good luck on the infinite abyss

Long time, no blog… I know.

But you know…. life.

Anyway, I digress. I just finished re-watching “Garden State” and it’s been a really long time since I’ve seen it, but I remember how much I loved it and it remains to be true. I remember how connected to that movie I felt the first time I saw it, even though someone said that it was pretentious. Yes, it could be construed at pretentious and trying too hard to be artsy, but there are certain aspects of the film that really resonate with me.

It’s humbling to realize that you’re not the only one who feels detached, numb, lost and uncertain. Yes, it’s a movie, but it comes across as honest. I think it’s that honesty that I identify with about those feelings of confusion and singularity. I feel like that is one of the few things that humans needs, crave… feeling connected to others.

For those of you that have seen the movie, as you can tell by the title of this post, one of my favorite lines in the movie is by the antique dealer guy living with his family on a defunct boat on the edge of a quarry. As Zach Braff, Natalie Portman and the other guy (I can’t think of his name right now, sorry) are leaving his place in the rain storm, Zach Braff says “Good luck on the infinite abyss” and the antique dealer smiles and says, “Hey, you too.” It seemed like such a pointed line of dialogue… like, “good luck out there”. Things like that line are what hit home for me. Of course, that line is followed up by the trio climbing on top of a excavator having a primal scream  overlooking the edge of the infinite abyss.

I always feel introspective when I see films that hit home for me and today isn’t any different. I remember the previous times that I’ve seen it, the parts of it that make me think, how they’ve changed… how I’ve changed, how circumstances always change.

So, yeah, for those that haven’t watched it, it’s really slow, not much dialogue… but what talking there is, is character driven. There’s little action. Be forewarned.

~ by wendemachete on May 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
