Day 1- Gratitude Project

Today, and really every day, I’m grateful for my job. I am grateful to be employed, yes. But beyond the fact that I have a steady income to support my family, I actually like my job. I have only been here a short time, but I truly feel appreciated and valued, even though I’m only a contract employee. I’ve been told how valuable I am and how much I am appreciated for the work I do, as well as the attitude that I bring to the team. I don’t make a huge amount of money, but it’s significantly more than my previous job, and there’s no “fake nice” here, like there was there. Everyone is genuine, like it or not. People are direct, but kind. And you know where you stand with everyone. But no matter where you stand, everyone is pleasant and there’s no catty gossip and backstabbing. People work together as a team, valuing the strengths of everyone else. Of course there are arguments and people get their feelings hurt. However, they don’t hold grudges and talk shit behind their backs, at least for long. You cannot get ahead in this company by being an asshole. I am grateful for this.

I am grateful for the opportunity to work in a new industry and expand my skills as a person and employee. I am challenged almost every day to learn something new or grow in my role here. In just a few months I’ve been able to surpass the duties of my predecessor significantly. I’ve expanded my role to almost twice her weekly hours, and secured myself as a valuable asset to multiple working groups and teams. I love helping others and I love learning new things. This job allows me to do both regularly, and I am thankful for that.

I’m also grateful for the fact that I’m treated like an adult. I do not have someone standing over me all day, monitoring my every move. I am allowed to take a break whenever I need to, surf the internet if I feel like it, and I still manage to get more done in a day than I ever did previously. It means something to feel like you’re not under the microscope. I’m eternally grateful for this.

And finally, I’m grateful for the flexibility of this position. It’s very important that I’m here, because I serve as the hub for many processes, however I can take vacation with a little notice, or adjust my schedule if I need to do something during the day. I’m not trapped at my desk 100% of my day, until a specified time, day in and day out. It’s a beautiful thing. This allows me to join my baby for doctor visits, come in a little late if she needs me in the morning, or get off a little early so that we can get things done before the middle of the night. I’m so very grateful that I found this job.

I appreciate every minute I get to spend here, as well as the challenges and people that come with the title. I am very glad that I passed up other opportunities, even though they were very tempting and lucrative at the time. I truly do not believe that I would have been as happy at those places, as I am here. Nor do I think I would have wanted to stay there forever. Not that I want to stay in this place forever, I’m sure I could if I wanted to. All of those other failed interviews and complicated situations that just “didn’t feel right” at the time, were simply blessings in disguise. I am grateful that they didn’t pan out the way I hoped then and that this opportunity pretty much landed in my lap. I’m so fortunate for so many reasons to be here in this place. And that’s what I’m grateful for today.

~ by wendemachete on July 7, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
