Day 5- Gratitude Project 

Again I’m late writing this entry, but the reason for it is part of why I’m  grateful. Sunday night, as we were relaxing on the couch, I suddenly had a wave of panic wash over me, and the image of a sign posted at one of my work sites flash before my eyes. 

Shit! I forgot that Monday is our monthly safety training! I thought it was next week! And because I was preoccupied with other fires needing to be put out, I didn’t prepare the training materials for the supervisor. 

I work up Monday morning at 4:45am, when I normally arise around 5:30-6am. I rushed through putting my breakfast and lunch in my bag and getting ready for the day. I made it out of the house in 45 minutes with everything I needed so I could get to the office before the training began. 

As I was walking to the front door, my boss was also walking up. He looked at me strangely and asked why I was there so early. I explained why and he laughed. He stated they could figure it out and it wasn’t necessary for me to do it. 

In this regard, I’m grateful for my dedication, loyalty, and desire to ensure everything is done correctly. Had I left it to the hands of others, chances are it would not have been done correctly. Our industry is highly regulated and in the event of an audit, our documentation must be in order. So because I’m a dedicated person, one that does not like passing off my responsibilities to other simply because I forgot, and because I am loyal to my bosses, I could not in good conscience skip out on my duties. 

I am grateful for my sense of dedication, even to things I’m only mildly responsible for. Occasionally this bites me in the ass, because I internalize and assume responsibility for too many things. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m thankful for my ability to make things “mine”. 

~ by wendemachete on July 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
