Facebook free week

Hello our there my faithful readers. Sorry for the delay in posting, but life. You know?

On top of life rearing its ugly head, I’ve been feeling pretty down lately. So sad and discouraged by the happenings of the world, I’ve generally had a sense of malaise that I’ve not been able to shake. 

Interesting enough, I was driving home from a class I’m taking last night, and my husband text me about a proposed challenge. He suggested we stay off Facebook for an entire week. Of course, he was coming from the angle that we’ve both been spending an awful lot of time on the internet and struggling to connect with one another. After understanding the ground rules, which are really simple- no Facebook for 7 days, I was in. 

There’s been numerous studies suggesting that people who are heavy social media consumers, above something like 2 hours per day, report feeling more depressed and less connected in general. That sort of research further suggests that while we are cultivating some sort of online presence, our real life interpersal relationships suffer the consequences. 

I know in my own life, the more time I spend on social media, the less attention I pay to my husband. My daughter, since she’s so young, pretty much is the only one that gets my undivided attention. And even then, if I’m reading something or responding, sometimes I put her off for a few minutes. This is a serious problem for me. These people are my top priority, and yet I find myself frequently distracted by other, less meangingful, things. 

In addition to the zero Facebook for this week, my husband has also decided that he and the baby will only watch an hour or so of tv, if it’s a movie, they’ll watch a bit more than an hour. When I get home from work in the afternoons, we won’t watch more than two hours together. He’s vowed to not play video games until after me and the little one have gone to bed for the night too. These are pretty clear steps to reconnecting with our little family and while in going to be bored to shit at work all day (I spend an inordinate amount of time surfing at work because I’m too efficient), but the benefits are going to be substantial. 

That said, I’ll have a whole lot more time to write and work on business. This prospect makes me also excited to see what happens. Wish me luck!

~ by wendemachete on February 5, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
